Weak Zones which have more chance of experiencing an earthquake are called Seismic Zones or Fault Zones.

There is more chance of earthquake at boundaries of different plates, so these are seismic zones or earthquake



We know that earthquakes are caused by the movement of plates.

So, the boundaries of the plates have more chances of earthquakes

This is called seismic zone or fault zone

Different Weak Zones or Fault Zones in India

Different faults zones in India are

  • Kashmir
  • Himalayas(Western and Central Himalayas)
  • Rann of kutch(Gujarat)
  • Indo Gangetic Plane (Areas near Ganga river)
  • Northeast India
  • Some part of South India



NCERT Question 10 - List three states in India where earthquakes are more likely to strike.

View Answer

Go Ad-free
Maninder Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Maninder Singh

CA Maninder Singh is a Chartered Accountant for the past 14 years and a teacher from the past 18 years. He teaches Science, Economics, Accounting and English at Teachoo