Structure of local government in India

A. In rural areas

The local government in rural areas is called Panchayat or Panchayati Raj.

It operates at three levels-

I. At Village level

  • Each village, or collection of villages in some States, has a gram panchayat , or village council, which is made up of a president or sarpanch and a number of ward members, commonly referred to as panch .
  • The adult resident of that ward or town votes for them directly. It serves as the village's primary decision-making body.
  • The gram sabha has overall control over how the panchayat operates. The village's residents are all eligible to vote.

II. At Block level

  • A panchayat samiti, block, or mandal is a collection of a few gram panchayats.
  • All the panchayat members in that region vote to elect the members of this representative body.

III. At District level

  • The zilla (district) parishad is made up of all the panchayat samitis or mandals in a district.
  • The majority of zilla parishad members are chosen via election. 
  • Members include representatives from the Lok Sabha , the district's MLA, and a few additional district-level authorities.
  • The political leader of the Zilla Parishad is the Zilla Parishad chairperson.

B. In urban areas

The local government for urban areas operates at two levels-

1. Small towns

  • Municipalities are set up in towns.
  • Municipal chairperson is the political head of the municipality.

2. Big cities

  • Big cities are constituted into municipal corporations.
  • In a municipal corporation, the Mayor is the political officer.
Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 14 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.