Describe any three features of Indian Federalism.



Points to Remember


Answer to be written in the Exam 

The Indian Union is based on the principles of federalism- 

1. As per the constitution, a multi-tier system of govt- the Union or the Central govt and the State govt have been provided. Panchayats and municipalities represent the third tier.

2. The Union Government and the State Governments were given a clear threefold division of legislative authority under the Constitution. 

    1. Union List- Subjects of national importance such as defence, foreign affairs, banking, communications, and currency. Uniformity is essential to govern these matters. Only the Union government is responsible to make and amend laws for these subjects in Union List.

    2. State List- Subjects of State and local importance are included. Police, trade, commerce, agriculture, and irrigation are a few main subjects. Only the State govt of a particular state can form laws about these subject matters.

    3. Concurrent List - Subjects of mutual interest to both- the Union and the State govt are included. Education, forests, trade unions, marriage, adoption, and succession are a few main subjects.

3. Independent courts and interpretation of the Constitution- The judiciary plays an important role in the implementation of constitutional provisions and procedures. In case of any dispute about the division of powers, the High Courts and the Supreme Court decide the case.

Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 14 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.