Check sibling questions

Planets in the Solar System - Teachoo.png

  • Eight planets in our solar system: Mercury , Venus , Earth , Mars , Jupiter , Saturn , Uranus, and Neptune
  • Easy way to memorize: M Y V ERY E FFICIENT M OTHER J UST S ERVED U S N UTS .
  • Planets move around the sun in orbits . Mercury is the nearest , Venus is Earth's twin , and Pluto is a dwarf planet .
  • Pluto was a planet until 2006. Then, the International Astronomical Union decided to call it and similar objects dwarf planets.
  • Planets are classified into two groups:
    • Inner planets : Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. Close to the sun, made of rocks, also known as terrestrial planets. 
    • Outer planets : Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Far from the sun, made of gases, also known as gas giants
  • Planets are heavenly bodies, with no own heat and light, shine by reflecting the sun’s light, and are spherical in shape.
  • Planets revolve around the sun from west to east and rotate on their axes.

Learn in your speed, with individual attention - Teachoo Maths 1-on-1 Class

Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 13 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.