Chapter 2 Class 9 Geography - Physical Features of India

What are Duns? Differentiate between the Inner  Himalayas and the Lesser Himalayas.

Answer :

Answer to be written in exam :

  • The longitudinal valleys lying between the Lesser  Himalayas and the Shiwaliks are known as Duns. 

The 3 Himalayan Ranges - Teachoo.png

Inner Himalayas( Great Himalayas)

Lesser Himalayas

Northern most range is called Great or Inner Himalayas or HIMADRI.

Range lying to the south of Himadri forms the most rugged mountain system called HIMACHAL or lesser Himalayas.

Most continuous range consisting of the loftiest peaks with an average height of 6,000 metres.

Altitude varies between 3700 and 4500 metres and average width is of 50km.

Folds of Great Himalayas are asymetrical in nature. Core of this part of Himalayas is composed of granite.

The ranges are composed of highly compressed and altered rocks.

It is constantly covered with snow, and a lot of glaciers descend from this range.

This range consists of the famous Kashmir valley, Kangra and Kullu valleys in Himachal Pradesh. This region is well known for its hill stations.

Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 14 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.