When was States Reorganisation Commission formed?

(a) In 1951

(b) In 1963

(c) In 1997

(d) In 1953



So, the correct answer is (d) - 1953.


  • The Central Government of India established the States Reorganisation Commission (SRC) in December 1953 to recommend the reorganization of state boundaries.
  • The recommendations of the commission were accepted with some modifications and incorporated into the States Reorganisation Act in November 1956.
  • The act stated that India's state boundaries be reorganized into 14 states and six centrally administered territories.
Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 14 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.