Check sibling questions

The Vedas

  • The word "Veda" comes from the Sanskrit root "vid ", which means "to know ". So, the Vedas are seen as a source of knowledge and wisdom.

  • The Vedas were not written down originall y, but were passed down orally from generation to generation through a tradition of memorization and recitation.

  • The Vedas were considered to be so sacred that only Brahmin priests were allowed to study and recite them.

  • The Vedas describe various gods and goddesses, such as Indra, Agni, and Soma, who were worshiped in Vedic times.

  • The Vedas also contain descriptions of social and cultural practices in ancient India, such as the caste system and various rituals and customs.

  • They contain hymns, prayers, and rituals that were used in ancient Vedic religious ceremonies.

  • There are four main Vedas: the Rigveda, the Yajurveda, the Samaveda, and the Atharvaveda.

  • Each Veda is divided into four part s: the Samhitas (hymns) , the Brahmanas (rituals and sacrifices) , the Aranyakas (meditation and philosophy ), and the Upanishads (philosophical teachings).

  • The Rig Veda is the oldest Veda. It was composed about 3,500 years ago.

  • It is divided into ‘10 mandals’ or books and contains 1,028 hymns. These hymns are in praise of different gods such as Indra, the god of rain, storm and war ; Agni, the fire-god : Varun- the sky god and many others.

  • The Vedas contain important ideas about the nature of realit y, the purpose of life, and the relationship between humans and the divine.

Learn in your speed, with individual attention - Teachoo Maths 1-on-1 Class

Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 13 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.