Chapter 5 Class 6 History - The Age of Vedas

What are the Vedas? What do they contain?



Answer to be written in the exam:

THE VEDAS - Teachoo.png

  • The word "Veda" comes from the Sanskrit root "vid ", which means "to know ". So, the Vedas are seen as a source of knowledge and wisdom..

  • The Vedas contain descriptions of social and cultural practices in ancient India, such as the caste system and various rituals and customs.

  • There are four main Vedas: the Rigveda, the Yajurveda, the Samaveda, and the Atharvaveda.

  • Each Veda is divided into four part s: the Samhitas (hymns) , the Brahmanas (rituals and sacrifices) , the Aranyakas (meditation and philosophy ), and the Upanishads (philosophical teachings).

  • They contain hymns, prayers, and rituals that were used in ancient Vedic religious ceremonies.
Go Ad-free
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 14 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.