India and adjacent countries - Teachoo.png

  • India occupies an important strategic position in South Asia.
  • India has 29 states, 7 Union Territories, However, currently it is 28 states, 8 union territories ( as of 2022)
  • It shares  land boundaries with
    •  Pakistan and Afghanistan in the northwest,
    •  China( Tibet), Nepal and Bhutan in the north and
    •  Myanmar and Bangladesh in the East.
  • Southern neighbours across the sea consist of 2 island countries- namely Sri Lanka and Maldives.
  • Sri lanka is separated from India by a narrow channel of sea formed by Palk Strait and Gulf of Mannar , while Maldives Islands are situated to the south of Lakshwadeep Islands.


Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 14 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.