Check sibling questions

Time zones of the World - Teachoo.png

  • The time zones are regions of the earth that have the same standard time
  • In 1884 , the International Prime Meridian Conference, agreed to divide the world into 24 time zones standard time zones.
  • Each zone is a narrow belt running from north to south, with an west-east extent of 15 degrees of a longitude.
  • The time zones are based on the Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) or Universal Time (UT) , which is the time at the Prime Meridian or 0° longitude
  • The time zones are numbered from 1 to 24, starting from the Prime Meridian and going eastward and westward
  • The time in each time zone is an exact number of hours ahead or behind GMT, except for a few countries that have a difference of half an hour
  • The time zones are adjusted to match the political boundaries of the countries that fall within them
  • Some countries with a large longitudinal extent have more than one time zone, such as Russia , which has 11 time zones

Learn in your speed, with individual attention - Teachoo Maths 1-on-1 Class

Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 13 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.