Check sibling questions
Political Science
Chapter 1 Class 7 Political Science - Democracy

What are the two principles on which democracy is based?



Answer by student:

  • The two principles on which democracy is based are equality and liberty.

Detailed answer by Teachoo:

  • Democracy is a form of government where the people have the right to choose their leaders and participate in the decision making process. Democracy is based on two fundamental principles: equality and liberty

  • Equality means that all citizens are equal before the law and have equal rights and opportunities . No one is discriminated against on the basis of caste, religion, gender, race, or any other factor. Everyone has equal access to education, health care, justice, and other public services. Everyone has an equal voice and vote in the elections and can contest for public office.

  • Freedom means that all citizens are free to express their views and opinions without any fear or censorship. They can form associations, movements, parties, or groups to pursue their interests and goals. They can also criticize or oppose the government or its policies if they are not satisfied with them. They can also enjoy various civil liberties , such as freedom of speech, press, religion, assembly, movement, etc.

Learn in your speed, with individual attention - Teachoo Maths 1-on-1 Class

Ask a doubt
Davneet Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Davneet Singh

Davneet Singh has done his B.Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 13 years. He provides courses for Maths, Science, Social Science, Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science at Teachoo.