What are trophic levels? Give an example of a food chain and state the different trophic levels in it



The various steps in a food chain at which the transfer of food/energy takes place are called trophic levels.


In a food chain, each step representing an organism forms a trophic level.



In the above food chain

Grasshopper eats grass, frog eats the grasshopper and snake eats the frog



  • Plants are the producers, and represents the first trophic level.
  • Grasshoppers are the primary consumers, and represent the second trophic level.
  • Frogs are the secondary consumers, and represent the third trophic level. 
  • Snakes are the tertiary consumers and represent the fourth trophic level.


Go Ad-free
Maninder Singh's photo - Co-founder, Teachoo

Made by

Maninder Singh

CA Maninder Singh is a Chartered Accountant for the past 14 years and a teacher from the past 18 years. He teaches Science, Economics, Accounting and English at Teachoo