In Capital Gains, there are basically Two types of Exemptions

1. Section 10 Exemption

Capital gain is not computed in these cases.


2.Exemption under section 54/54B/54D etc. 

Capital gains is actually computed and later deduction are given for exemptions

(These are actually deduction but they are called exemption in income tax act)


Lets study Section 10 Exemptions first


  1. Income from Capital Gains
  2. Exemptions
Ask Download

About the Author

Davneet Singh's photo - Teacher, Computer Engineer, Marketer
Davneet Singh
Davneet Singh is a graduate from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has been teaching from the past 8 years. He provides courses for Maths and Science at Teachoo. You can check his NCERT Solutions from Class 6 to 12.
  • bharat patel's image

    an case sale of bussiness proprty how to calculate capital gain ( propery of industrial area of govt.

    with bldg.machinery shed and land )

    View answer